Making Policy Public
June 22
A program of the Center for Urban Pedagogy (CUP)

Project Team and Jury

About CUP

The Center for Urban Pedagogy (CUP) is a nonprofit organization that uses the power of design and art to increase meaningful civic engagement. CUP collaborates with designers, educators, advocates, students, and communities to make educational tools that demystify complex policy and planning issues. We believe that increasing understanding of how these systems work is the first step to better, more equitable, and more diverse community participation.

To find out more about CUP and see our other programs, visit:

2017 Jury

Keira Alexandra, Partner at Work-Order
Bobby Martin, Founding Partner of OCD
Rob Solano, Co-Founder and Co-Executive Director of Churches United for Fair Housing (CUFFH)
Peggy Shepard, Co-Founder and Executive Director of WE ACT for Environmental Justice

To see previous jury members click here.

Press Information

For press inquiries, please contact Frampton by phone at 718-596-7721

Website By

Linked by Air, designers
Megan Woo, coder

Support for Making Policy Public is provided by:
the National Endowment for the Arts; and public funds
from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in
partnership with the City Council

Keira Alexandra

Keira Alexandra is a partner at Work-Order, a design firm in New York specializing in branding and motion. Keira started her career at the seminal design studio M&Co., founded by Tibor Kalman, followed by creative director positions at MTV and Sundance TV. She has taught in the graphic design graduate program at Yale since 1999 and frequently lectures about design.

Bobby Martin

As a Founding Partner, Bobby Martin guides OCD's culture and sets the relentless standard of design and vision for the company. Prior to founding OCD, Martin led an internal design team for Nokia in London where he oversaw brand identity across their global packaging range. He also served as design director of Jazz at Lincoln Center where he worked with Artistic Director, Wynton Marsalis, to bring the brand to life and reach new audiences. Fast Company recently named Bobby Martin one of the Most Creative People in Business. He is a board member of the Type Directors Club and served on the board of AIGA/NY from 2006-08. Bobby Martin graduated from Virginia Commonwealth University and earned an MFA from the School of Visual Arts where is also faculty.

Rob Solano

Rob Solano is a Co-Founder and Co-Executive Director of Churches United for Fair Housing (CUFFH). Rob was born and raised in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, and is a devoted advocate for affordable housing. His professional interests focus on empowering the community through grassroots organizing and providing access to affordable housing to his neighbors and other NYC communities in need. In addition to day-to-day operations, Rob focuses on nurturing and growing relationships with members of the CUFFH network and oversees our Special Projects initiatives with churches and local developers. In addition to his CUFFH duties, he serves on the board of Trinity Human Services, Grand Street Boys’ Association and Brooklyn Community Board 1.

Peggy Shepard

Peggy Shepard is co-founder and executive director of WE ACT For Environmental Justice and has a long history of organizing and engaging Northern Manhattan residents in community-based planning and campaigns to address environmental protection and environmental health policy locally and nationally. She has successfully combined grassroots organizing, environmental advocacy, and environmental health community-based participatory research to become a national leader in advancing environmental policy and the perspective of environmental justice in urban communities — to ensure that the right to a clean, healthy and sustainable environment extends to all. Her work has received broad recognition: the Jane Jacobs Medal from the Rockefeller Foundation for Lifetime Achievement, the 10th Annual Heinz Award For the Environment, the Dean’s Distinguished Service Award from the Columbia Mailman School of Public Health, and an Honorary Sc.D from Smith College.